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Do you want to file for divorce? 
 

Divorce is a legal procedure that ends a marriage and 

changes the legal relationship between former 

spouses.  Living apart from your husband or wife does 

not legally end a marriage.   

 
Types of divorce available in 

Pennsylvania. 
 

There are 2 kinds of divorce: no-fault divorce and 

fault-based divorce.  Most people in Pennsylvania 

obtain a no-fault divorce because it is easier and 

cheaper and you may not have to appear before a 

judge or go to court other than to file the papers 

needed for the divorce.  There are 2 kinds of no-fault 

divorce: 
 

1.  If both parties agree to the divorce, they can 

obtain a no-fault divorce.  After one party files for 

the divorce and 90 days has passed after the 

complaint is served on the other spouse, each 

party may file an Affidavit of Consent to divorce.  

You may also work out any property issues you 

have by agreeing on how you will deal with 

marital property in a Property Settlement 

Agreement.  The court rules require you to file a 

series of legal papers to complete the divorce.  

This is the fastest way to divorce in Pennsylvania, 

but it requires both parties to work together.  
 

2.  Unilateral (also known as “irretrievable 

breakdown”) no-fault divorce is available if one 

of the spouses will not agree to the divorce but the 

parties have been living separate and apart 

(defined by the statute as “complete cessation of 

any and all cohabitation, whether living in the 

same residence or not”) for at least 2 years and 

the marriage is irretrievably broken. You may file 

for the divorce before you have lived separate and 

apart for the 2 year waiting period, but you cannot 

get the divorce until the 2 year period is over.  

There may be disagreement between you and your 

spouse about when you started living separate and 

apart.  It is important to try to get some legal 

advice on this issue.   
 

 
Where to file for divorce. 
 

You may file for divorce in Philadelphia County if 

you or your spouse lived in Pennsylvania for the 6 

months immediately before the filing of the divorce 

complaint, and either party currently resides in 

Philadelphia or you agree to divorce in Philadelphia.  

There is no required length of residency in the county 

where the divorce complaint is filed.  In Philadelphia, 

a divorce complaint is filed with the Clerk of Family 

Court at 1501 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA.  

 
What is the cost? 
 

The filing fee is $328.98.  You may pay with a money 

order.  Personal checks and cash are not accepted.   
 

If you cannot pay the filing fee, you may ask to be 

excused from paying the fee by filing a petition to 

proceed In Forma Pauperis (IFP).  Ask for and fill out 

an IFP Petition.  If you are on public assistance or 

SSI, bring your public assistance photo ID or proof 

receipt of SSI. 

 
What happens to property owned by the 

parties in a divorce? 
 

“Marital property” refers to almost everything that 

either spouse gets during the marriage, regardless of 

whose name the asset is titled in.  Such assets would 

include a house (again, regardless of whose name is 

on the deed or mortgage), pensions, stocks and bonds, 

furniture, automobiles, bank accounts, debts, etc.  

“Marital property” also includes increases in value 

during the marriage of: (1) any property owned by a 

spouse before the marriage and/or (2) any asset or 

property a spouse inherits or receives by gift during 

the marriage.  The law provides guidance regarding 

the “equitable distribution” of marital property.  

Equitable distribution means “fair.”  It does not 

necessarily mean 50-50 distribution of marital 

property.   

 

 

 
  

This brochure is meant to give you 

general information and not legal 

advice. 
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“Fairness” is determined by examining several 

factors: 

 Length of  marriage; 

 Any prior marriage of either party; 

 Age, health, station, amount and sources of 

income, vocational skills, employability, estate, 

liabilities and needs of each of the parties; 

 The contribution by one party to the education, 

training or increased earning power of the other 

party; 

 The opportunity to acquire assets and income in 

the future; 

 The sources of income for both parties; 

 The contribution of each party in the acquisition, 

preservation, depreciation or appreciation of 

marital property, including the contribution of a 

party as homemaker; 

 The value of any property set apart to each party; 

 The standard of living of the parties established 

during the marriage; 

 The economic circumstances of each party; and 

 Whether the party will be serving as the custodian 

of any dependent minor children. 
 

Note that “fault” behavior (e.g., adultery) is not 

considered in determining fairness in property 

distribution. 

 

Can alimony or support for the spouse be 

awarded in a divorce? 

Two kinds of financial support for the spouse can be 

awarded in a divorce: 

 Alimony Pendente Lite (APL) is a form of 

support that is only awarded for the period after a 

divorce complaint has been filed and ends when the 

divorce is granted.  Its purpose is to allow the spouse 

with less financial resources than the other to pursue 

and/or defend against the divorce action and maintain 

his or her standard of living during this period.    

 
 Alimony is a form of financial support paid by 

one spouse to the other after the divorce is final.  The 

law allows the court to order alimony for as long as it 

is needed based on the following factors: 
 

 Relative earnings and earning capacities of the 

parties; 

 Ages and physical, mental and emotional 

conditions of parties; 

 Sources of income of both parties, including: 

 Expectancies and inheritances of both parties, 

and 

 Length of the marriage. 

 Contribution by one party to the education, 

training, or increased earning power of the other 

party;  

 Extent to which earning power, expenses, or 

financial obligations of a party will be affected 

by reason of serving as custodian of minor child; 

 Standard of living of the parties established 

during the marriage; 

 Relative education of the parties and time 

necessary to acquire sufficient education or 

training to enable the party seeking alimony to 

find appropriate employment; 

 Relative assets and liabilities of parties; 

 Property brought to the marriage by either party; 

 Contribution of a spouse as a homemaker;  

 Relative needs of the parties; 

 Marital misconduct of either party during the 

marriage, but not after the date of final 

separation (except abuse of one party by the 

other); 

 Federal, state and local ramifications of 

alimony;  

 Whether the party seeking alimony lacks 

sufficient property to provide for the party’s 

reasonable needs; 

 Capability for self-support through appropriate 

employment. 

 

Do you need a lawyer? 

Filing for a divorce can be a complicated process, 

especially if custody of children, support, and/or 

property division is involved.  If possible, it is best to 

have legal representation.   

Legal assistance may be available from: 

 PHILADELPHIA LEGAL ASSISTANCE:  

215-981-3800 

 PHILADELPHIA BAR ASSOCIATION’S LAWYER 

REFERRAL AND INFORMATION SERVICE:  

215-238-6333 

This brochure is meant to give you 

general information and not legal 

advice. 


